Our network


KSU athletic director joins Golden Soldiers

KSU athletic director joins Golden Soldiers

KENNESAW, Ga. -- The Golden Soldiers recently named Kennesaw State University athletic director Vaughn Williams to its board of directors.

The Golden Soldiers is a faith-based non-profit that hosts events, activities and service opportunities for families and individuals living with developmental disabilities, all while promoting the Golden Rule.

Hundreds to graduate from Chattahoochee Tech

Hundreds to graduate from Chattahoochee Tech

MARIETTA, Ga. -- More than 1,100 students have applied to graduate from Chattahoochee Technical College this month.

The Marietta-based school's commencement ceremony will be held Dec. 17 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre.

One remarkable soon-to-be-graduate is George House of Canton. House is a former combat medic who entered Chattahoochee Tech with hopes of becoming a nurse. However, he soon discovered that he had a knack for working with electronics.

"I learned about the classes in biomedical and realized it would be a good fit," said House, who is receiving an associate of science in electrical and computer engineering technology with a specialization in biomedical instrumentation technology. "It is an area with great potential for growth and careers."

"I'm looking to secure a position with a company where I can continue to grow and learn," House added.

Second grader makes blankets for nursing center

Second grader makes blankets for nursing center

WOODSTOCK, Ga. -- Carmel Elementary School student Emmalee Nichols, was challenged in Mrs. Jill Noojin's second-grade class to do a community service project.

Emmalee, age 8, made ten fleece no-sew lap blankets for the Canton Nursing Center.  Emmalee said, "I care about this project because people need our help, especially older people." The challenge was made in the spirit of Community Service Day, also known as Make a Difference Day (10/22/12).

PHOTOS | Make a Difference Day 2012

Emmalee’s parents, Wyatt and Michele Nichols, were very proud of her hard work and desire to help others. Carmel Elementary is nationally known for their character education program; they currently are the State School of Character for Georgia and have also received national acclaim.

Cobb educators honored by math teachers council

Cobb educators honored by math teachers council

MARIETTA, Ga. -- Two Cobb County educators were honored during a recent awards ceremony for the Georgia Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Deborah Poss and Michelle Mikes were recognized by the council on Oct. 18.

Poss teaches at Lassiter High School in Marietta. She won the council's highest honor, the Gladys M. Thompson Distinguished Service Award. This lifetime achievement award is given annually to someone who has spent an entire teaching career going above and beyond the call of duty every day.

Michelle Mikes won the John Neff Award for excellence as Cobb County's district supervisor for math in grades 6-12. Mikes was honored for inspiring and mentoring teachers and serving as an advocate for math education.

CCSD CobbCast

55 Cobb students among National Merit semifinalists

55 Cobb students among National Merit semifinalists

COBB COUNTY, Ga. -- About 16,000 American high school students have been named semifinalists for the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program, and 55 kids from Cobb County are among them.

These talented high school seniors will now compete for 8,300 National Merit Scholarships, which will be offered next spring.

To become a semifinalist, a student must earn good grades and a high score on the PSAT. Finalists are named by submitting detailed scholarship applications to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Cobb's semifinalists include:

Campbell HS
Sarah Grisham
Joshua Morton
Rachel Tamas

Harrison HS
Jordan Bell
Jackson Hopper
Cullen Mowery

Hillgrove HS
Luke Maurer

Kennesaw Mountain HS
Anna Hankal
Audrey Milam

Lassiter HS
Brian Cohn
Anna Gwaltney
Bailey Johnson
James Rowe
Ryan Smith

Oak Grove ES names Teacher of the Year

Oak Grove ES names Teacher of the Year

ACWORTH, Ga. -- Jillian Nichols has been named the 2012-13 Teacher of the Year at Oak Grove Elementary School.

PHOTOS | Cherokee County Teachers of the Year

Nichols, who teaches second grade, is now in the running to become the Cherokee County Elementary School Teacher of the Year, as well as the county's overall Teacher of the Year.